What is Your Right of Redemption Before and After Foreclosure?

Table of Contents

The concept of homeownership is deeply ingrained in the American psyche, bringing with it both joys and challenges. One such challenge is the possibility of foreclosure. While the prospect of losing one’s home is daunting, it is vital to understand the rights that homeowners have during this challenging time. Central to these rights in some states is the ‘right of redemption’. This article will explore deep into the details of the right of redemption, specifically looking at its implications in the states of Missouri and Kansas.

What is the Right of Redemption?

The right of redemption provides homeowners with a legal pathway to reclaim their foreclosed property. This means that after the property has been sold at a foreclosure auction, the original homeowner has a predetermined period during which they can repurchase the property, typically by paying off the foreclosure sale amount and any associated costs. The specifics of this right, however, vary from state to state.

The Right of Redemption in Missouri

Missouri stands out in its approach to the right of redemption. In this state, once a property sale happens at the courthouse, the deal is irrevocable. Simply put, Missouri doesn’t grant homeowners any right of redemption post-foreclosure. Once the property is sold, the original owner cannot reclaim it.

The Right of Redemption in Kansas

A Period of Grace

Contrasting Missouri, Kansas offers a more flexible approach when it comes to the right of redemption. The state grants homeowners a redemption period post-foreclosure, allowing them 90 days to either settle the amount for which the property was sold at the auction or explore other avenues.

Selling Redemption Rights

One unique aspect of Kansas’s right of redemption is the ability for homeowners to sell their redemption rights. This can range vastly, from as little as $500 to a significant sum like $50,000, largely dependent on the property’s sale value. This presents an opportunity for homeowners to recuperate some financial value, even in the face of foreclosure.

Special Considerations

It’s worth noting that in specific situations, the redemption timeline can be extended:

  • Federal Tax Liens: If there are federal tax liens associated with the property, the redemption period can be stretched to 120 days.
  • Payment on Original Note: If more than 50% of the original loan amount on the house is paid off, the redemption period can span up to an entire year. This means that a buyer at a foreclosure sale might not take actual possession of the property for a whole year.

Implications for Homeowners

While it might seem like the bank is the ultimate authority once a property goes into foreclosure, the right of redemption in places like Kansas shows that homeowners still possess certain rights and potential avenues for recourse. By understanding these rights, homeowners can better navigate the challenging terrain of foreclosure and potentially salvage financial value.


The right of redemption before and after foreclosure offers a glimmer of hope to homeowners facing the distress of losing their property. While states like Missouri have a more definitive stance, states like Kansas provide additional avenues for homeowners to explore. No matter where you find yourself, it’s essential to be aware of your rights and the options available to you.

If you have questions or are facing foreclosure, don’t hesitate to contact us. Our team is here to provide guidance and support during these trying times.